Go to Top

Clubmark FAQs

What is Clubmark?

Clubmark is Sport England’s national accreditation scheme for high quality junior sports clubs. It sets the standard for all high quality sports clubs in England.

Who accredits Clubmark?

Around 70 National Governing Bodies of Sport (NGBs) and County Sports Partnerships are licensed to award Clubmark.

All organisations involved in accrediting Clubmark clubs are subject to a licensing process. The licence is designed to ensure that all such organisations involved work to a minimum operating framework and can prove it. The licence is renewed every two years to ensure that minimum operating standards agreed are met by all Clubmark sports and best practice in quality standards is reflected.

What does Clubmark stand for?

Clubmark stands for higher standards of safety, fairness, coaching and management. That way the nation’s sports club infrastructure is safer, stronger and more successful.

This means that a club that has been awarded Clubmark has achieved minimum operating standards in safeguarding and protecting children, quality coaching, equal opportunities and good management.

In essence, a club that qualifies for Clubmark is a well-run club which is ACTIVE and ACCESSIBLE, getting the best out of young people and giving everyone a sporting chance.

Why should clubs apply for accreditation?

Clubmark provides recognition for high quality clubs. It is important that all clubs should strive to this quality standard. Clubmark is an important club development tool and provides a solid foundation for all clubs wishing to establish a youth structure.

Clubs awarded Clubmark can be proud of what they have achieved. They are shown to have a commitment to developing junior sport. Parents can be assured that their children belong to a safer club. Members can be sure their club is a well-managed club, striving to offer the best in coaching and sports development. By striving to achieve higher standards clubs are likely to attract more members and build a sustainable future.

As a single, national standard, Clubmark gives sports clubs of all types structure and direction. Clubs awarded Clubmark have seen many tangible benefits… more

Who is eligible for Clubmark?

All clubs that are affiliated to a Sport England recognised NGB can gain Clubmark accreditation. Clubs are not disadvantaged simply because their NGB is not licensed to accredit. Licensed CSPs can accredit clubs in their area that do not belong to a licensed NGB.

How can my club apply for Clubmark?

Registration for Clubmark should be through your NGB or CSP who will provide you with all the relevant resources and information. We recognise that sometimes the hardest part of accreditation is knowing which organisation to contact to register an interest so to help clubs get started we have developed the Pathway to Accreditation. Just answer a few simple questions and we can point you in the right direction.

What does working towards Clubmark accreditation involve?

In working towards Clubmark accreditation, clubs will essentially need to put together a portfolio of evidence which outlines the minimum operating criteria. This criteria for example, includes having a child protection policy, demonstrating a coaching plan and having up to date public liability insurance. A list of the generic Clubmark criteria is available to download here.

Who assesses clubs for Clubmark and how is Clubmark a quality assured scheme?

Each NGB/CSP which is licensed to accredit clubs must go through a rigorous process and provide evidence it has sufficient resources to operate Clubmark. Clubs in each region are externally assessed by trained staff from KKP to ensure that NGBs/CSPs are supporting clubs throughout the process and that clubs provide appropriate and up to date evidence.

How do I know which clubs have Clubmark? How can I find a Clubmark club near me?

The national Clubmark database holds records for every accredited clubs across the country. This database can be filtered by sport, region, local authority and CSP to help you to find the most suitable club for you. A similar database of working towards clubs can also be downloaded.

Also, look out for the Clubmark logo – all accredited club are presented with a certificate to display and use the logo on websites, signage and letterheads etc.

How long does Clubmark accreditation last?

Clubmark accreditation lasts for 3 years (or 4 years for some NGBs). At this stage each club will be re-assessed on all areas of the award. Clubs are also asked to complete an annual health check to ensure that no major changes have taken place and there will be at least one visit by the licensing organisation during the accreditation period. Clubs may also be visited by a trained member of staff from KKP as part of its external verification programme.

What is re-accreditation?

A club must re-submit its file to its NGB or CSP (whichever body accredited the club), after the relevant timer period in order to become re-accredited.

I’m not sure if my club has Clubmark accreditation – how do I know?

There are a number of sports which adopt a different brand name for their Clubmark accreditation. If your Club has any of the following awards then the Club also qualifies for Clubmark:

  • CAPS (Netball)
  • Club Charter (Squash)
  • Clubs First (Hockey)
  • Club Future (Badminton)
  • Go-ride (Cycling)
  • Golf Mark (Golf)
  • GymMark (Gymnastics)
  • LacrosseMark (Lacrosse)
  • Premier Club (Table Tennis)
  • Seal of Approval (Rugby Union)
  • Snowmark (Snowsports)
  • Swim 21 (Swimming)
  • Tennis Clubmark (Tennis)
  • The Football Association (Charter Standard)
  • Top Club (Canoeing)
  • Volleyball (Volley 1-2-3)
Share on Social MediaFacebookTwitterLinkedInGoogle+