The Living Sport Sports Awards 2020 in partnership with Central England Co-operative recognised and celebrate the achievements of talented sports people, the significant contribution made by coaches and volunteers, and showcased the organisations and clubs who used sport and physical activity to make a positive impact on people’s lives across Peterborough and Cambridgeshire in 2020.

Held on 3rd December, the focus of the event for this year was on 'lockdown heroes' who have gone above and beyond, showing compassion, generosity and creativity within the sport and physical activity community.

This year’s awards were held virtually and the event was live-streamed on the Living Sport Facebook page. The event was hosted by former Olympic gymnast and Strictly Come Dancing winner, Louis Smith, himself a former Living Sport award winner.

Over 7,000 votes were cast in the public vote and combined with the assessment of the judging panel the winners were selected. 

Coach of the Year Award – sponsored by Anglia Ruskin University
Winner: Chloe Smith, Willingham Wolves Football Club
Runner up: Jones De Sousa, Youth Dreams Project
Runner up: Ben Yeomans, Trumpington Football Club

Community Club of the Year (Amateur) Award – sponsored by Lifeplus
Winner: Cottenham United Colts Football Club
Runner up: March Bears Rugby Club
Runner up: Spiral Gymnastics Club

Community Volunteer of the Year Award – sponsored by Bidwells
Winner: Edwin Fey, March Bears Rugby Club
Runner up: Vicky Bennett, Chatteris Town Football Club
Runner up: Magdalena Dawczak, Freelance Fitness Instructor
Runner up: Jane Reeson, Over Cricket Club
Runner up: Mark Sanderson, Cambridge City Hockey Club

Jonnie Peacock Award – sponsored by Azets
Winner: Gemma Stevenson, Wheelchair Tennis and Adaptive Abilities Cheerleading
Runner up: Rick Rogers, Cheerleading
Runner up: Stuie Delf, Running

Matthew Warn Power of Sport Award
Winner: Cambridge United Community Trust
Runner up: Power2Inspire and Oak Activities
Runner up: Youth Dreams Project

Services to Sport Award
Winner: Ian Darler, Cambridge United Football Club
Runner up: Clinton Wedderburn, Basketball Coach
Runner up: John Willis, Power2 Inspire

Workplace of the Year Award – sponsored by Everyone Health
Winner: East Anglian Air Ambulance
Runner up: Arm
Runner up: EBCam

Young Community Volunteer of the Year Award – sponsored by Nene Park Trust
Winner: Lenni Lewis, Peterborough Rugby Club
Runner up: Ella Hampton, St. Ives Rangers Football Club
Runner up: Corey Howard, Youth Dreams Project

Watch the full show 

Take a look at the Living Sport Virtual Sports Awards 2020 programme click here.

    We are enormously grateful to the support of all this year’s sponsors, without whom the awards could not take place.


    Thanks also to Jeremy Reeves from the Federation of Small Businesses.